Ecclesiastes 12: Fear God Especially When No One’s Watching

If there’s any virtue of going through this study of Ecclesiastes, it’s been getting to know this chapter and many of the gems that lead to life and keep things in perspective. I’ve gotten so much from reading through studies and learning some vocabulary in it’s original language and I really hope you did too. I’ve been so blessed to hear different feedback from some of you and appreciate you catching these posts when you can. Let’s read the final chapter in this fantastic book here.

Many quote sayings that teach how small decisions, minor choices, behaviors when no one “important” is looking, really add up and lead to us getting what we really deserve, whether directly or indirectly…

-treating our spouses well
-speaking poorly of our boss
-choosing to eat less sweets
-a small lie to get out of a situation
-telling the clerk they undercharged you
-not giving God the first fruits of your gross income

Some of these examples, if repeated, will lead to breakdowns in relationships, sadness and constant financial struggles. Some of these examples, also if repeated, will lead to peace, joy, and constant favor.

“For God will bring every act to judgment, everything which is hidden, whether it is good or evil.” – Ecc. 12:13

Do you ever feel like someone’s watching you? Ha ha, I hope that wasn’t a creepy question.

I mean, don’t you do things and feel like if someone saw you, they’d think the worst…or maybe the best?

I know I often feel like God’s right there, watching me, interjecting some words at time which is very welcome in the moments when I also get small whispers of discouragement, fear, or rejection. I’m sure we’ve all been there!

When you read this, was it also apparent that Solomon wanted to end with a point that communicated, “If you get nothing else from this book, understand this!”?

This point, being that when no one is watching, when no one’s around to hear, when no one’s truly listening to the inner thoughts and decisions…know that God is and always will be.

And for that simple fact, fear Him. Not “Ah! He’s so scary!”. Not “Ah! What will He do now?!” Not, “I blew it. I’m awful to Him. I’m lost.” kind of fear.

Fear like…”You are a good Father. You know best. You know me best and still love me deeply. Of course I will trust You and follow You, honor You and adore You, with the things I say and do. And when I fail, I will be quick to confess and ask You to forgive me, because You love me.”

When Solomon used that word “fear”, it was meant to mean to encourage to “fear God, and fly from evil”, as interpreted by the Gesenius’ Hebrew-Chaldee Lexicon.

Dear friend, let’s take that away from this interesting book. Let’s be quick to honor God by removing ourselves from attitudes that dishonor Him. One day, maybe soon, you will be so glad you did.

Much love,

Jessica

Leave a Reply

